Julia Dean // Annenberg Space for Photography

Inspired by Julia Dean’s photos, I explored the L.A. county in search for culture. The first place I thought of was China Town. I started to mimic her black and white city photography, but the noticed a lot of red in the city of L.A. and decided to add my own twist. By singling out the color red, it personalized my photos to this theme. I felt like in a city where people are so consumed in their work and school and life, there lacks the “life” in it. In her work she photographs people in their natural environment and with that they stand out in the crowd, the ones who are happy and doing things that they love. That is what the red represents in my photography — the culture and people. The black and white represents the grey-ness of the city.

Leave a Reply

